

SCIENTIFIC WORKING GROUP

COMMUNIQUÉ – MEETING No. 61 17 September 2013

The following members were present at the Scientific Working Group (SWG) meeting held on 17 September 2013: Peter Fairweather (chair), Luciano Beheregaray, Anthony Cheshire, Milena Fernandes, Bronwyn Gillanders, Hugh Kirkman, Luciana Moller, Scoresby Shepherd and Hazel Vandeleur. Apologies were received from Sean Connell, Charlie Huveneers and Martine Kinloch.

The SWG wishes to advise the Minister of the following key outcomes of the meeting:

- SWG was updated about the changes since their last meeting to the operations and governance of the Marine Parks project within the Department;
- SWG also discussed the present situation regarding the management plans implementation and possible future roles for SWG;
- SWG re-elected Professor Peter Fairweather as chair for the next 12 months;
- SWG was updated regarding progress on the monitoring, evaluation & reporting (MER)
 framework and gave the Department detailed advice about the latest summary document for
 that program;
- SWG was presented with some draft report cards for marine parks and other marine ecosystems
 as are being developed for NRM reporting. These were seen as a useful summary for the public
 of South Australia and so some feedback was given with more promised to be provided out of
 session; and
- Arrangements were made to streamline the flow of documents and other information to the SWG, so as to facilitate timely consideration and advice about them.

Professor Peter G. Fairweather Chair, Scientific Working Group