

Department for Environment and Heritage Marine Parks

SCIENTIFIC WORKING GROUP

COMMUNIQUÉ – MEETING No. 31 9 March 2010

The following members were present at the Scientific Working Group (SWG) meeting held 9 March 2010: Anthony Cheshire (Chair), Scoresby Shepherd, Cath Kemper, Peter Fairweather, Hugh Kirkman, Martine Kinloch, Charlie Huveneers, Luciana Moller and Luciano Beheregaray. Apologies were received from Hazel Lindsay, Sean Connell and Bronwyn Gillanders.

Members of the SWG would like to advise the Minister for Environment and Conservation that at its meeting held 9 March 2010 the SWG:

- Welcomed the new members and thank the Minister for his support in appointing the new members.
- Received advice on ecosystem based management (EBM) and an update on the national monitoring, evaluation and reporting framework (MERF). The SWG advises the need to link up issues across government, with cognisance of the role and the abilities of NRM, PIRSA and EPA amongst others to contribute.
- Recommend that there is a need to review ecologically sustainable development (ESD)
 definitions across various South Australian legislation with a view to achieving a consistent
 definition in order to support EBM
- Advise that they are planning to workshop the development of principles to guide the
 design and implementation of a performance assessment system (PAS) for the marine
 parks program. The SWG advise that a PAS needs to explicitly link the assessment of
 other management and regulatory arrangements, eg State of the Environment (SoE)
 reporting, NRM monitoring, evaluation and reporting and PIRSA fisheries stock
 assessments.

Anthony Cheshire

An Hory Clashire

Chair, Scientific Working Group