## SCIENTIFIC WORKING GROUP COMMUNIQUÉ – MEETING No. 51 8 June 2012

The following members were present at the Scientific Working Group (SWG) meeting held on 8 June, 2012: Anthony Cheshire (chair), Luciana Moller, Luciano Beheregaray, Charlie Huveneers, Peter Fairweather, Martine Kinloch, Hugh Kirkman, Hazel Vandeleur, Scoresby Shepherd, Bronwyn Gillanders and Milena Fernandes. Apologies were received from Sean Connell.

The SWG wishes to advise the Minister of the following key outcomes:

- The SWG welcomed the Chair of the Marine Parks Council, Rob Lewis, as an observer to the meeting;
- The SWG noted the presentation given by Dr Simon Bryars on preliminary assessment of the ecological impacts of the current sanctuary zones scenario;
- The SWG agreed on the content of the advice to be given to the Minister in relation to the current sanctuary zones scenario. A response letter is being prepared;
- The SWG discussed its involvement and advised on certain elements of the project to establish baselines and associated MER components; and
- The SWG elected Professor Peter Faiweather, from Flinders University, as its new Chairperson for the next 12 months.

Prof. Anthony Cheshire

An thony Clashere.

Chair, Scientific Working Group