

## Department for Environment and Heritage Marine Parks

## SCIENTIFIC WORKING GROUP

## COMMUNIQUÉ – MEETING No. 29 8 December 2009

The following members were present at the Scientific Working Group (SWG) meeting held 8 December 2009: Anthony Cheshire (Chair), Bronwyn Gillanders, Hazel Lindsay, Scoresby Shepherd, Cath Kemper, Peter Fairweather, Hugh Kirkman and Sean Connell. An apology was received from Martine Kinloch.

Members of the SWG would like to advise the Minister for Environment and Conservation that at its meeting held 8 December 2009 the SWG:

- Received a presentation on DEH's habitat mapping program and provided advice on future options for the program including research required to improve utility and application of the methodology.
- Received an update on the establishment of the Local Advisory Groups (LAGs).
- Received a presentation on the Government's marine park policy commitments.
- Discussed and provided advice on DEH's research priorities for the marine parks program.
- Discussed their terms of reference and agreed to recommend that the SWG membership could be extended to include 12 members and that the sunset date of the working group should be extended until 2015.

Anthony Cheshire

An thony Clashere

Chair, Scientific Working Group