

## SCIENTIFIC WORKING GROUP

## COMMUNIQUÉ – MEETING No. 25 31 August 2009

The following members were present at the Scientific Working Group (SWG) meeting held 31 August 2009: Peter Fairweather, Hugh Kirkman, Scoresby Shepherd & Cath Kemper. Apologies were received from Bronwyn Gillanders, Sean Connell, Hazel Linsday, Martine Kinloch and Anthony Cheshire. At the SWG meeting:

- Patricia von Baumgarten provided an update on the National Marine and Coastal Committee (MACC) and it's associated working groups
- Andy Burnell provided an update on the Local Advisory Groups (LAGs)
- The SWG continued discussions on the design principles for zoning. The SWG determined that selection criteria would be developed for the existing 7 biophysical design principles, and that additional management principles would be developed to complement the existing 7 community design principles.

Anthony Cheshire Chair, Scientific Working Group