



## Marine Parks

July 08

## SCIENTIFIC WORKING GROUP

## COMMUNIQUÉ – MEETING No. 14 May 2008

## Meeting 14: Tuesday 13 May 2008

Members of the Scientific Working Group would like to advise the Minister for Environment and Conservation that the following outcomes were achieved at its forteenth meeting held on Tuesday 13 May 2008.

- SWG members present included Anthony Cheshire (Chair), Peter Fairweather, Cath Kemper Hugh Kirkman, Scoresby Shepherd and Matthias Tomczak; apologies from Sean Connell and Bronwyn Gillanders.
- ❖ An update was presented by Barbara Musso from the Department of Environment, Water, Heritage and the Arts on the marine bioregional planning process in Commonwealth waters. Following that, the SWG encouraged Commonwealth protected area alignment for the South Australian Eyre and Encounter areas (as well as for the Murat bioregion with the Great Australian Bight benthic protection zone).
- ❖ Discussions revolved around planning for a risk assessment workshop by DEH on activities and uses suitable in different zones (ie general managed use, habitat protection, sanctuary and restricted access zones, and special purpose areas). The discussion showed that general managed use and habitat protection zones need the most attention and the SWG resolved to continue its discussion at the next meeting.
- ❖ The SWG noted that the design principles, having been reviewed by Peter Fairweather and others in CMCB, are now streamlined to seven biophysical and seven community based principles. All the information is still contained though packaged slightly differently.
- SWG Chair nominations took place with Anthony Cheshire re-endorsed for the year.