

SCIENTIFIC WORKING GROUP COMMUNIQUÉ – MEETING No. 48 13 December 2011

The following members were present at the Scientific Working Group (SWG) meeting held on13 December, 2011: Anthony Cheshire (chair), Peter Fairweather, Charlie Huveneers, Martine Kinloch, Hugh Kirkman, Scoresby Shepherd and Hazel Vandeleur. Apologies were received from Luciano Beheregaray, Sean Connell, Milena Fernandes, Bronwyn, Gillanders, and Luciana Moller.

The SWG wishes to advise the Minister of the following key outcomes:

- The SWG celebrated the end of the year and its achievements with DENR's staff that provided support to the group during 2011. The Chairperson thanked Sarah Bignell for her support to the SWG during the last couple of years and wished her all the best.
- SGW thanked Leanne Burch for the message received from Minister Paul Caica and agreed that it is important to maintain the dialogue with the Minister.
- A final draft copy of the vulnerability papers was given to each member as an opportunity for members to provide last minute feedback.
- SWG discussed the recent paper, *Questionable interpretation of the Precautionary Principle in Australia's implementation of 'no-take' marine protected areas,* published by Bob Kearney's and others in the Marine Policy journal, and agreed to provide comments to a paper being written on the same topic.
- The SWG noted the update on the MER Program, which includes the development of a logic model as a framework for program development, implementation and evaluation. SWG agreed to hold a workshop early in 2012 to provide input to the logic being developed.
- The SWG noted the update on the Marine Parks project and the commitment to ongoing support to the group, by DENR's staff, despite cost savings initiatives.

An thony Cheshire

Prof. Anthony Cheshire Chair, Scientific Working Group for Marine Protected Areas and Marine Planning.