

Department for Environment and Heritage Marine Parks

SCIENTIFIC WORKING GROUP

COMMUNIQUÉ – MEETING No. 32 13 April 2010

The following members were present at the Scientific Working Group (SWG) meeting held 13 April 2010: Anthony Cheshire (Chair), Scoresby Shepherd, Hugh Kirkman, Martine Kinloch, Luciana Moller, Luciano Beheregaray and Sean Connell. Apologies were received from Hazel Vandeleur (nee Lindsay), Cath Kemper, Peter Fairweather, Charlie Huveneers and Bronwyn Gillanders.

Members of the SWG would like to advise the Minister for Environment and Conservation that at its meeting held 13 March 2010 the SWG:

- Received an update on the application of Marxan modelling to support the development of marine park zoning scenarios.
- Committed to participating in a joint meeting between the SWG and the Marine Parks
 Council and noted that this provided a significant opportunity to work with the Council in
 the review of socio-economic design principles to support the development of zoning
 scenarios.
- Received an update on progress in community engagement through a review of summary results from the use of SAMPIT across the State.
- Continued discussion on the development of the biophysical design principles and discussed the need to seek endorsement from the Minister on the selection criteria, particularly the criteria relating to the Adequacy Principle.

Prof. Anthony Cheshire

Chair, Scientific Working Group