

SCIENTIFIC WORKING GROUP

COMMUNIQUÉ – MEETING No. 24 11 August 2009

The following members were present at the Scientific Working Group (SWG) meeting held 11 August 2009: Anthony Cheshire (chair), Martine Kinloch, Hazel Lindsay, Hugh Kirkman, Scoresby Shepherd and Cath Kemper. Apologies were received from Sean Connell and Bronwyn Gillanders. John Middleton resigned from the SWG on 10 July 2009.

Members of the SWG would like to advise the Minister for Environment and Conservation that at its meeting held 11 August 2009 the SWG:

- Committed to providing advice on design principles and key performance indicators for zoning to inform the Local Advisory Groups (LAGs)
- Endorsed the report cards on the working group proposals, subject to some final changes
- Recommended the development of a flow chart depicting the marine parks development process to be used for communication purposes
- Reviewed their response document to the Buxton et al (2009) and Kearney (2009) reports.
- Discussed the proposed meeting with industry-funded fisheries scientists.