LOWER EYRE PENINSULA

MARINE PARK LOCAL ADVISORY GROUP

PARKS 5, 7 and 8

RECORD OF MEETING

Meeting No. 5: Wednesday, 4 May 2011

Ravendale Community Sports Centre at Port Lincoln

The objectives of Marine Park Local Advisory Groups (MPLAG) are to facilitate effective communications between the Department of Environment and Natural Resources (DENR) and regional communities and to assist in the development of draft marine park management plans.

Members present: Danny Bartlett (Chair), Bill Ford, Steve Moriarty, Philip Porter, Brian Saunders, Kerryn McEwan, Albert Whittle, Norm Pope, Andrew Wright, David Backen (proxy for David Sherry).

DENR staff: Dirk Holman, Shelley Harrison, Jon Emmett, Louise Smith, Claire Charlton.

Apologies / absent: Brenton Growden, Carol Gayle, Terry Scott, Bill Stenson.

Gallery: 25 people present.

Members advise that the following outcomes were achieved at the meeting:

- Correspondence from a range of sources was tabled and members were given the opportunity to discuss any issues arising.
- MPLAG members provided feedback in relation to the marine parks process from their community networks.
- DENR presented a brief outline of the sanctuary zone core design principles in comparison to zoning advice from the MPLAG at meeting 4.
- Each sanctuary zone was discussed at length by members. There was general agreement on sanctuary zones inside Coffin Bay and some new suggestions made for zones in the area from Whidbey to Thorny Passage. Some received majority support, whilst others had minority support.
- Questions and comments from the gallery were received.
- Dirk Holman (Executive Officer) thanked the MPLAG members for their considerable effort in contributing to the marine parks process.
- Meeting closed at 5:20 pm.