

Hon Jay Weatherill

Minister for Environment & Conservation

Monday, 4 January 2010

LOCAL GROUPS DIRECTLY INVOLVED IN MARINE PARKS PLANNING

Environment and Conservation Minister Jay Weatherill has announced 13 new local advisory groups that will help draft management plans and zoning arrangements for the State's 19 marine parks.

The Marine Park Local Advisory Groups are the next step in the process of establishing the network of marine parks that will protect South Australia's unique marine life.

Outer boundaries were announced in January last year and following a period of public consultation – including three pilot working groups for the Far West Coast, Port Lincoln region and the South East – amendments were made to the outer boundaries in July.

"The local advisory groups continue this Government's commitment to working with local communities in developing these marine parks," Mr Weatherill said.

"The local advisory groups are about getting the best available local knowledge from people who live or work near a marine park.

"We also want commercial and recreational fishers, the mining and tourism industries and conservation groups to have a say.

"Members will help gather information from coastal communities by tapping into local knowledge of recreational, professional and cultural activities in and around marine parks."

The local advisory groups will help with the development of draft marine park management plans and will provide advice on zoning, in a process that will also involve key stakeholders

The draft plans will then be amended and are expected to be released for community consultation in 2011.

Members of the public will be welcome to observe sessions of local advisory group meetings and a record of each meeting will be made available to the public via the Government's marine parks website.

"More than 85 per cent of our beautiful marine life isn't found anywhere else in the world," Mr Weatherill said.

"Marine parks will help protect the wide range of habitats found in our State waters – and the creatures that live in them – for generations to come. I am confident that by the end of this process, marine parks will be seen as a great marketing tool for our seafood industry and for tourism and will be embraced by the communities living with the parks." Advisory groups have been divided between the parks as follows:

Far West MPLAG (park 2)

Chaired by Ian Cawood (President, Smoky Bay Progress Association), with members including Jane Lowe (Eyre Regional Development Board), Bruce Zippel (President, SA Oyster Growers Association), Peter Owen (The Wilderness Society) and Mayor Allan Suter (District Council of Ceduna)

West Coast MPLAG (parks 3 and 4)

Chaired by Jonas Woolford (President, Abalone Wildcatch Industry), with members including Noel Box (professional fisherman), Loralee Wright (Aboriginal Heritage Committee), David Letch (Friends of Sceale Bay) and Alan Payne (ecotourism operator)

Lower Eyre Peninsula MPLAG (parks 5, 7 and 8)

Chaired by Danny Bartlett (Councillor, City of Port Lincoln), with members including Bill Ford (professional fisherman), Norm Pope (SA Recreational Fishing Advisory Council), Kerryn McEwan (EP Natural Resource Management) and Brian Saunders (Friends of Coffin Bay National Park)

Sir Joseph Banks Group MPLAG (park 6)

Chaired by Dion Watson (District Council of Tumby Bay), with members including Gary Flack (SA Recreational Fishing Advisory Council), Julie Fischer (Friends of Reevesby Island), Julie Pettett (Conservation Council of SA) and Greg Palmer (professional fisherman)

Franklin Harbor MPLAG (park 9)

Chaired by Eddie Elleway (Mayor, District Council of Franklin Harbor), with members including John DeGiglio (Professional Fisherman), Mark Cant (CEO, Eyre Regional Development Board) and Ashley Smith (charter operator)

Upper Spencer Gulf MPLAG (park 10)

Chaired by Robin Sharp (Secretary, Port Augusta Coastal Homes Association), with members including Alan Hall (recreational fisherman), Michael Slattery (Secretary and Treasurer, Scale Net Fishers Association), Doug Reilly (conservation) and Tony Bramley (Whyalla Diving Services)

Western Yorke Peninsula MPLAG (parks 11 and 12)

Chaired by Ian Janzow (Marion Bay Boat Ramp Committee), with members including Erika Lawley (Friends of Althorpe Island Conservation Park), Marlene Botten (Port Hughes Boat Club), David Sloper (NY Natural Resource Management) and Ian Hills (Vice Commodore, Point Turton Sailing Club)

Lower Yorke Peninsula MPLAG (park 13)

Chaired by Peter Stockings (Edithburgh resident), with members including Chris Johnson (charter operator), Peter Bartram (Friends of Troubridge Island) and Russell Boord (professional fisherman)

Upper Gulf St Vincent MPLAG (park 14)

Chaired by Brenton Schahinger (SA Recreational Fishing Advisory Council), with members including John Walker (Chair, Thompson Beach Progress Association), Bart Butson (professional fisherman), Barbara Reid (Mallala Foreshore Advisory Committee) and Anne Picard (District Council of Mallala)

Kangaroo Island MPLAG (parks 12, 15, 16 and 17)

Chaired by Andrew Gilfillan (Penneshaw resident), with members including Graeme Connell (Kangaroo Island Council), Fraser Vickery (Kangaroo Island Natural Resources Management Board), Margi Prideaux (conservation) and Terry Lehmann (professional fisherman)

Fleurieu Peninsula MPLAG (park 15)

Chaired by John Crompton (Victor Harbor resident), with members including Mary Beckett (Councillor, Alexandrina Council), Scott Weaver (Normanville charter fisherman), Robert Edmeades (Friends of Parks) and David Hall (Victor Harbor and Goolwa Sea Rescue Squadron)

Upper South East MPLAG (park 18)

Chaired by Bill Hender (CEO, District Council of Robe), with members including John Kuhl (Secretary, Upper South East Branch of Recreational Fishers), Simon Peters (Kingston rock lobster fisherman), Robert Roach (Boatswains Point resident), Ruth Beach (Environmental Defenders Office) and Pip Rasenberg (SE Natural Resources Management Board)

Lower South East MPLAG (park 19)

Chaired by Grant King (CEO, Limestone Coast Regional Development Board), with members including Gary Clifford (President, SA Recreational Fishers Association), Lionel Carrison (rock lobster fisherman) and Maureen Christie (conservation)

The Far West Coast Marine Park (park 1), which overlays the State waters part of the Great Australian Bight Marine Park, will be considered with the assistance of the current Great Australian Bight Marine Park Consultative Committee.