## SOUTH AUSTRALIAN HERITAGE COUNCIL

## **MINUTES**

The 116<sup>th</sup> Meeting of the South Australian Heritage Council (the Council) was held via electronic means on 29 March 2021.

**South Australian Heritage Council**: Chair: Mr Keith Conlon OAM Members: Emeritus Professor Alison Mackinnon AM, Mr Marcus Rolfe, Ms Robyn Taylor, Mr Michael Constantine, Mr Jason Schulz, Ms Katrina McDougall, Ms Robyn Taylor and Ms Jan Ferguson OAM.

**Secretariat:** Mr David Hanna, Executive Officer, Heritage South Australia, Department for Environment and Water (DEW)

It was noted in the agenda that this electronic meeting was held in confidence under section 7 (6) of the *Heritage Places Act 1993*.

Council agreed to release these minutes at its 10 November 2022 meeting.

## 1. South Australian Heritage Council Delegations.

Mr Hanna, Executive Officer, instigated the meeting via an email to all Council members sent on Monday 29<sup>th</sup> March.

This email included the agenda, cover paper and draft revised Instrument of Delegation.

It was noted in the paper provided to Council members that their term of appointment was due to expire on 1 April 2021 and, at the time of writing, the Minister had not approved the term for the next Council.

Heritage South Australia identified there is a risk that if there is no Council appointed for a period of time there is currently no delegated capacity for a nominated place to be provisionally entered in the South Australian Heritage Register to protect it while an assessment is carried out (section 17 (2) of the *Heritage Places Act 1993*).

Heritage South Australia recommended that the Instrument of Delegation be revised to give delegated authority to the Manager of Heritage South Australia to exercise section 17 (2) of the *Heritage Places Act 1993* with the following strict condition:

The Manager Heritage South Australia can only exercise this delegation in the period between the expiration of terms of appointment of one Council and the approval of the appointment of the next Council.

The following Council members responded with their approval via email to Mr Hanna:

- Mr Keith Conlon
- Ms Jan Ferguson
- Ms Kate McDougall
- Mr Michael Constantine
- Professor Allison Mackinnon
- Mr Marcus Rolfe
- Ms Robyn Taylor

The following Council members did not respond:

- Mr Jason Schulz
- Mr David Stevenson

The recommendation was approved and Mr Hanna will arrange for Mr Keith Conlon to sign the revised Instrument of Delegation.

It was noted that Council's policy and procedure on delegations will need to be revised to ensure consistency with Council's decision on this matter.

## **RESOLUTIONS:**

The South Australian Heritage Council:

- **Approved** the revised Instrument of Delegation to give delegation to the Manager Heritage South Australia to exercise Section 17 (2) of the *Heritage Places Act 1993* under strict conditions outlined in column three.
- Noted that Council's policy and procedure on delegations be revised at a future meeting.

**CLOSE OF MEETING** 

Mr Keith Conlon OAM

Chair

Date: 23 April 2021