

Project governance

A Joint Liaison Committee comprising the Chief Executive of the South Australian Department of Environment and Natural Resources and the First Assistant Secretary, Water Reform of the Australian Department of Environment, Water, Heritage and the Arts provide overall government oversight to the Lower Lakes and Coorong Recovery project.

Within the South Australian Government, the project governance arrangements involve a Project Board, Project Steering Committee and Project Team.

South Australian project board

The Project Board carries the responsibility for the overall carriage of the project and its key business decisions. It has responsibility to ensure that goals and deliverables of the project are achieved. The board members have collective as well as individual responsibility to the project.

Board members:

- Chief Executive, Department of Environment and Natural Resources
- Chief Executive, Department for Water
- Deputy Under-Treasurer
- Commissioner for Water Security
- Chair, Water Security Technical Working Group, Department for Water
- Director Coorong, Lower Lakes and Murray Mouth Program, Department of Environment and Natural Resources.

The project steering committee

The Project Steering Committee is responsible for ensuring that the project's goals and deliverables of the project are achieved to the satisfaction of the Project Board. The Steering Committee members have collective as well as individual responsibility for the project.

Members bring individual skills and experience to ensure that the project proceeds in accordance with its project charter and project management requirements.

In particular, the Project Steering Committee:

- endorses the business decisions for the project
- makes resources available
- endorses work products.



Committee members:

- Chief Executive, Department of Environment and Natural Resources (Chair)
- Director Coorong, Lower Lakes and Murray Mouth Projects, Department of Environment and Natural Resources
- Executive Director, Murray Futures
- Chair, Water Security Technical Working Group, Department of Water
- Director, Nature Conservation, Department of Environment and Natural Resources
- Long-Term Planning Manager, SA Water
- Environmental Water Manager
- Group Manager, River Murray Works and Measures, Department for Water.

Project team

The Project Team, working under the guidance of the Director, Coorong, Lower Lakes and Murray Mouth Projects within the Department of Environment and Natural Resources has the responsibility to carry out the work necessary to ensure that the project's goals are achieved.

Project assurance

The Project Team work with Community Reference Groups, Ngarrindjeri liaison and Technical Working Groups to ensure that key input and feedback is incorporated into the project.

Future governance plans

The governance structure is currently being reviewed as the Coorong and Lower Lakes Recovery project moves from planning to implementing the actions outlined in the Securing the Future document.

