Native Vegetation Council Member Profiles 2025-2027



Dr Marilyn Henderson

Presiding Member - Nominated by the Minister for Climate, Environment and Water

Dr Henderson been a primary producer for over 40 years; she is a Back Valley Beef farmer and a semi-retired research scientist. Dr Henderson is an Elected Member of the City of Victor Harbor and has represented her local council on the Tree Assessment Panel. She is experienced in revegetation of rural properties and vegetation management and has experience of local board membership. Dr Henderson holds a PhD in Animal Science, a Graduate Diploma in Environmental Studies and has volunteered in several zoological roles.



Mr Michael Cornish

Member - Nominated by the Conservation Council SA



Mr Cornish is a public policy professional with specialist skills in economics, law, international relations, and conflict management. He currently works as the Policy Lead for the Australian Land Conservation Alliance, the Australian peak body for private land conservation. His consultancy and project management roles have ranged across areas of work such as development economics, aid-for-trade, inclusive business, environmental policy, international trade, and tertiary education.

Ms Robbie Davis

Member - Nominated by the Minister for Climate, Environment and Water for Landscapes SA

Robbie has business experience in both the private and public sectors domestically and internationally as a CEO and Director. She also operates a grazing property (beef cattle) in the upper south east of South Australia. Following almost ten years living and working in Southeast Asia (Singapore, Indonesia, Brunei), she was self-employed as an agribusiness consultant until her appointment as CEO in the horticultural sector in 2012; a role she held for eight years. She is now a Non-executive Director with food security and the reduction of food waste among issues of predominant importance to her. She aims for an equitable and common-sense balance between profitable agribusiness and the natural environment for a resilient future.



Currently she is on the Boards of Invasive Animals Ltd and the Limestone Coast Landscape Board. She is a past Non-executive Director of Fight Food Waste Ltd, (incorporating a Cooperative Research Centre), Rural Bank Agribusiness and Murraylands Regional Development.

She was profiled under PIRSA's Women Influencing Agriculture and Regions in 2015, is the RIRDC 2016 SA Rural Woman of the Year and an alumna of the National Farmers Federation (NFF) Diversity in Agriculture Leadership Program 2019



OFFICIAL

Ms Anna Hooper

Member - Nominated by the Primary Producers SA



Ms Hooper has 20 years' experience in the grape and wine sector. She has been a non-executive director of private and government boards in the fields of biosecurity, conservation, natural resource management, and grape and wine business. She is currently a non-executive director on the board of Landcare Australia. Ms Hooper has tertiary qualifications in Agricultural Science (oenology), a Masters of Agribusiness, a Graduate Diploma in Business Law and is a graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Prof Hugh Possingham

Member - Nominated by the Minister for Climate, Environment and Water

Prof Possingham is a Professor at The University of Queensland, the co-Chief Councillor of the newly created Biodiversity Council and Chief Scientist of Accounting for Nature. Most recently he was the Queensland Chief Scientist and Chief Scientist of The Nature Conservancy (globally). Prof Possingham is a conservation scientist who engages with community, government and industry on issues such as vegetation management, threatened species, regional planning and biodiversity offsetting. He has co-authored over 750 per-reviewed scientific papers and supervised over 90 PhD students.



Mr John Neal - Member - Nominated by the Local Government Association of SA



As a fourth-generation farmer, Mr Neal has significant knowledge and experience of regional priorities and issues. He has demonstrated a commitment to native vegetation and grassland management and restoration and is the current Chairman of the Mid-North Grassland Working Group. Mr Neal brings an understanding of local government, with experience as an elected member and Deputy Mayor of the Regional Council of Goyder. He also has an understanding of bushfire management with over 40 years' experience in the South Australian Country Fire Service. He is former vice president and treasurer of South Australian Farmers Federation.

Ms Kylie Weymouth

Member - Nominated by the Minister for Climate, Environment and Water in consultation with the Minister for Planning

Ms Weymouth is a qualified urban planner who has held a number of key roles in the recent state planning reforms, including Theme Lead, Natural Resources and Environment. She brings significant understanding and knowledge of the new planning system including the interaction of planning and native vegetation legislation. Ms Weymouth has over 20 years' planning experience including senior roles in local government and 15 years in State Government, as well as extensive experience in policy writing and development, strategic planning and community engagement. She also has experience in development assessment including large scale projects and Council Development Assessment Panel experience.





